Parliament Square launch debut album at Dolan’s Warehouse

Limerick Voice Journalist Alessandro Mazzoleni caught up with Limerick band, Parliament Square, who successfully launched their debut album in Dolan’s Warehouse earlier this month.

The album is a self-titled collection of songs bookending the band’s creative period from 2012 to 2014, according to the guitar player Ross Brennan.

“I was the last to join the band”, said Mr Brennan, “We got on well with each other from an early stage and this was enough inspiration to attempt creating an album together,” he continued.

Social commentary would be the most recurring theme throughout the album. The songs reflect the bands thoughts on issues such as sexuality, depression, the casualties of being in a band and the utter madness of the world we live in.

The night at Dolan’s Warehouse celebrated their return on the road.

From the beginning of the show, the band offered an incredible combination of lights and sounds to the public. Their Indie rock, with stadium and alternative influences, was appreciated by everyone who filled the venue. 

The audience danced all night long, particularly at the end of the set: the last track As I Have and the encore Forest fire had an incredible impact on the audience.

“The song Forest Fire was the first collaboration between Brendan [frontman of the band] and I which paved the way for much of the sound on the other tracks. It was the infusion of Brendan’s rock and my electronic influences moulded into a groovy indie-pop song,” Mr Brennan explained.

Parliament Square hit the stage as a veteran band, healthy and ready for a new era.

Ross Brennan also explained how the sound of the album came together. “Most of it was written at our hub, Studio B. We were buzzing after producing Forest Fire and wanted to further explore using synthesisers and drum machines with organic instruments. The rest of the record came from hard work, late nights and weekends working long hours trying different ideas on each layer of our sound,” he said.

“There is a wide variety of tones and sounds throughout the album. From heavy hitting drums to soft pedal steel, from trashy hammond organ to 808 beats and Moog bass lines. That’s what happens when you bring 4 creative people together from different influences and backgrounds,” the guitar player added.

The self-titled debut album of Parliament Square is recorded by Owen Lewis (REM, Snow Patrol), produced by Ross Brennan and Mastered by Richard Dowling (WAV Mastering).

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by themekiller.com anime4online.com animextoon.com apk4phone.com tengag.com moviekillers.com