Adare take home gold in 2017’s Limerick Going for Gold

Alan Place
#loveyourlimerick Photo: Alan Place

#loveyourlimerick Photo: Alan Place

Hundreds of people witnessed Adare claiming gold on Tuesday, October 10, at the Strand Hotel in Limerick Going for Gold 2017.

Adare was awarded the top prize of €10,000, Abbeyfeale was awarded €7,000 in second place and South Limerick City came in third place with €5,000.

Oola came in fourth place, claiming €3,000 and Croom in fifth with €2,000.

The remaining groups received €1,000 each.

Limerick Going for Gold is organised by Limerick City and County Council and is supported by Live 95FM, The Limerick Leader, The Limerick Post and I love Limerick to name a few.

It is sponsored by the JP McManus Charitable Foundation and has a total prize pool amounting to over €75,000.

12 communities made the final of the Limerick Going for Gold Challenge Category and prizes were also awarded in six other Going for Gold categories.

Mayor of the City and County of Limerick, Councillor Stephen Keary, congratulated the participating communities on the success of Limerick Going for Gold and the effort they made.

“Limerick Going for Gold’s mission is to make Limerick a brighter, better, cleaner place to live, work and visit and every community who participated in this year’s event must be congratulated on the amazing job you have done once again,” he said.

“It never ceases to amaze me how a shared sense of community spirit among people can help to transform an area.  It is clear that Going for Gold has also helped to complement, consolidate and add value to the council’s involvement and engagement with the broader community sector in Limerick.”

Over a five-week period, finalists Athea, Castleconnell, Galbally, Hospital and Oola were chosen on Live 95FM by popular vote.

The judges in Limerick Going for Gold were Richard Barry, who is the Tidy Towns Chair in Tallanstown, Co Louth and Jimmy Feane, a retired Director of Service in Limerick City and County Council.

Barry and Feane selected the wildcard finalists Abbeyfeale, Adare, Croom, Foynes, Kilfinane, Moyross and South Limerick City.

Going for Gold 2017 Limerick in Bloom was won by Kilteely who were awarded €5,000. Runners up Patrickswell got €3,000.  In third place was Croagh who retained €2,000.

Ardpatrick, Athea, Broadford, Bruff, Caherconlish, Galbally, Kilmallock, and Newcastle West received €1,000 each.

Kilcornan was the overall most improved across Limerick, snatching a €2,000 prize.

Abbeyfeale, Glenroe, Gouldavoher and Rathkeale were the overall most improved in each Municipal District and they were awarded €1,000 each.

Noel Earlie, from the JP McManus Charitable Foundation, spoke at the event and said that it was important to recognise community groups.

“It was considered important that recognition be given to community groups, in whatever form they take, for their contribution to the environment.  They’re role models for all of us, leading by example.  Congratulations to all the communities involved.  Your efforts are paying off.”

The winner of the Residential Area Category were Caherdavin with €2,000, Monaleeen Park came in second place with €1,500 and Cappamore Estates came in third place with €1,000.

The Grange in Raheen received the award of €500 for Best Newcomer.

Limerick Fairtrade Committee, Limerick Youth Service Centre, Southill Tidy Towns Group and Westfields Wetlands were presented with Endeavour Awards ranging between €500 and €1,000 to encourage and  support ongoing work on the environment.

John McCarthy won the #Loveyourlimerick Photographic Competition for his portrayal of a day in the life of Kilteely. Fiona Quinn also won for capturing a moment along the quays in Limerick city.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by