Limerick announced as applicant for European Green Leaf Award 2020

Limerick has just been announced as an applicant for the European Green Leaf Award 2020.

The European Green Leaf Award aims to showcase cities who are making a difference with practical actions that others can replicate to improve our environment.

Limerick is one of twelve European cities in the running for the European Green Leaf 2020 Award, and will compete against the following cities for the award:

  • Avignon (France)
  • Kaposvár (Hungary)
  • Lappeenranta (Finland)
  • Mairena del Alcor (Spain)
  • Mechelen (Belgium)
  • Oliveira do Hospital (Portugal)
  • Svishtov (Bulgaria)
  • Szentes (Hungary)
  • Valmiera (Latvia)
  • Viana do Castelo (Portugal)
  • Vranje (Serbia)

The European Green Leaf Awards were created to recognise and reward the achievements of pioneering cities in their efforts to improve the local environment and quality of life. Despite the numerous environmental problems faced by most cities today, European cities are standard-setters in urban sustainability and often pioneer innovative solutions to combat these environmental challenges.

Karmenu Vella, European Commissioner for the Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, said: “I am very pleased to see that the European Green Capital and European Green Leaf Awards have attracted so many new towns and cities this year.

“These cities are working hard to be better places for their citizens to live, work and grow old. I have no doubt that all applicants are outstanding and we can celebrate these remarkable efforts and achievements.

“Being named Green Capital or Green Leaf is about being the best of the best.”

A panel of twelve independent, internationally recognised experts will now begin a technical assessment of each application to select a shortlist of cities for both awards.

This expert panel will assess the applications for the award based on six environmental topic areas; climate change and energy performance; sustainable urban mobility; nature, biodiversity and sustainable land use; air quality and noise; waste and circular economy; and water.

The finalists for both awards will be announced in April 2019 and will then be invited to present their case to an international jury.

The jury will evaluate the cities’ commitment to sustainable urban development, their capacity to act as a role model to other cities and their strategy for communicating and engaging with their citizens.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in June in Oslo, the 2019 European Green Capital.

5,269 total views, 15 views today

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by