Only Two Women To Contest Election As Mary Honan Withdraws

Mary Honan / Vote No. 1 for Mary Honan/Facebook

Mary Honan, the only independent Limerick City candidate to confirm she was contesting a seat in next year’s General Election has withdrawn.

Medical reasons which would make it difficult for her to canvass and raise funds is why she pulled out.

Only two of the nine remaining candidates are women, Sarah Jane Hennelly of the Social Democrats and Education Minister Jan O’Sullivan of Labour.

Ms Honan was facing a uphill battle to get elected in a constituency where candidates from Fine Gale, Fianna Fáil and Labour traditionally get the peoples vote.

“If I had a party behind me at least they would shoulder some of the burden and give me a chance to get better.

“You have to do all the fund raising yourself, you have no support of a party, no financial support or moral support,” said Ms Honan.

Her Facebook page “My Limerick”, which promotes all the positive sides of Limerick has been online for the last six years and has almost 5000 members.

Ms Honan had been encouraged by the amount of members who had pledged they would vote for her and assist her with door to door canvassing.

She was hoping to run her campaign on a shoe string budget by raising funds through table quizzes, raffles and concerts.

“I thought throwing money at a campaign was not what I was about, I’m fighting for the underdog and the independent candidates are underdogs,” Ms Honan added.

Although this is a setback to her political ambitions she is determined to represent Limerick City in the future.

“The next elections are for the local council so I said Id wait for those in 18 months, by then Id be in a better position to go out and fund-raise,” said Ms Honan.

In the last General Election in 2011 only two women ran for office in Limerick, Education Minister Jan O’Sullivan of the Labour Party and Sheila Cahill of the Green Party.

Only two Females have represented Limerick in Dáil Éireann, Minister O’Sullivan and Kathleen O’Callaghan.

First elected in 1921, Mrs O’Callaghan was a member of Sinn Féin and voted against the Anglo-Irish Treaty.

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by