Gillane wins Player of the Year as Treaty County dominate U21 awards

All Ireland U21 champions, Limerick topped off the 2017 season in style last night as eight players were selected on the Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year.

Attacking starlet, Aaron Gillane, captured the prestigious Hurler of the Year title capping off a wonderful year for the side and the Patrickswell clubman personally.

Highlighting the team’s strength all over of the pitch, they claimed three defensives positions through corner-back Sean Finn, with Ronan Lynch and Kyle Hayes named in the half-back line.


The Bord Gáis Energy U21 Team of the Year

Dynamic duo of Colin Ryan and Robbie Hanley made up the midfield, while in attack, Cian Lynch, Peter Casey and the aforementioned Gillane all scooped the awards.

The players received their awards in a special ceremony that took place Monday night in Croke Park.

The selection committee consisted of ex-Dublin manager Ger Cunningham, Galway All-Ireland winner Joe Canning, Waterford’s stalwart Ken McGrath and TG4’s Micheál Ó Domhnaill.

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by