Junior hurling title for Na Piarsaigh’s second team

junior hurling
Na Piarsaigh captain Brian Hartnett lifts to Limerick Junior A Hurling title after their four point win over St Patrick's. Photo: Na Piarsaigh GAA Website

Na Piarsaigh will be playing in the Limerick Intermediate Hurling Championship in 2017 after they beat St Patrick’s by four points in Saturday’s County Junior Hurling Final.

The Caherdavin side’s main team plys their trade at senior level and now their second side have moved up to the third tier of Limerick hurling as a result of this win.

Brendan Mullins’s goal late in the first half had St Patrick’s two points ahead at half time but Na Piarsaigh fought back to go in front soon after the break.

The game was level going into the final 10 minutes but Kieran Daly’s goal gave Na Piarsaigh a lead that they never looked like losing.

Neither side were unable to gain an early advantage and were level three times in the opening 10 minutes.

An excellent Mark Ryan point gave Na Piarsaigh the lead and if it wasn’t for an excellent David Geary save from Conor Boylan, the Caherdavin side would have been firmly on top.

A Pat Gleeson ’65 and a well taken score from Eoin Hogan then put Na Piarsiagh 0-6 to 0-3 in front with 18 minutes played.

St Patrick’s got back to within a point thanks to points from John Mullane and Jason Mullins before Brendan Mullins’ goal in first half added time.

Gearoid Hegarty made a sensational catch in his own half back line and delivered a dangerous ball into the full forward line.

Na Piarsaigh keeper Evan Condon looked to have dealt with the danger but lost possession at the vital stage and Brendan Mullins batted the ball into an empty net.

St Patrick’s would have been looking to consolidate their lead at the beginning of the second half but two sensational Kieran Daly points and a Gleeson free had them 0-10 to 1-6 in front.

A monster free be Hegarty and a Padraigh Reals score from play put St Patrick’s back in the lead but Mark Ryan’s second point levelled the game with 10 minutes left.

The game wasn’t level for long as Daly netted in the 52nd minute. Daly started the move by gaining possession 40 metres from goal.

He passed to Dean McLaughlin who offloaded to fellow substitute Will Henn. Daly then took control again and rifled a low shot into the corner of the net.

St Patrick’s responded to the goal by moving Hegarty up the field to score two points but Na Piarsaigh captain Brian Hartnett cancelled that out with an inspirational point from midfield to seal the win.

Scorers: Na Piarsaigh: Pat Gleeson 0-6 (five frees, one ’65), Kieran Daly 1-2, Conor Boylan 0-3, Dylan Cronin and Mark Ryan 0-2 each, Brian Hartnett 0-1; St Patrick’s: Jason Mullins 0-5 (all frees), Brendan Mullins 1-1, Gearoid Hegarty 0-3 (one free), John Mullane 0-2, Padraigh Reals 0-1.

NA PIARSAIGH: Evan Condon; Evan O’Brien, Mark Buckley, Pa Guinane; Conor Houlihan, Niall Buckley, Brian Hartnett; Pat Gleeson, Mark Ryan; Eoin Hogan, Conor Boylan, Kevin Ryan; Kieran Daly, Pat McCarthy, Dylan Cronin; Subs: Dean McLaughlin for Hogan (43 mins), William Henn for Cronin (46 mins), Johnny Madden for McCarthy (57 mins).

ST PATRICK’S: David Geary; David Clancy, Mark Phelan, James Madden; Wayne Cronin, Gearoid Hegarty, Gearoid Phelan; Jason Mullins, Kevin Maher; John Mullane, Brendan Mullins, Niall Phelan; Keelan Stephenson, Pat Mullins, Michael Geary; Subs: Padraigh Reals for Stephenson (43 mins), Colin Earls for M Geary (51 mins), Jack Greenwood for Madden (57 mins).

REFEREE: Patsy Coffey (Cappamore)

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by