Limerick manager Kiely names hurling panel for 2017 season

Limerick hurling manager John Kiely has named a 39-man panel for the 2017 season. Photo: Limerick GAA Facebook

New Limerick hurling manager John Kiely has announced a 39-man panel that includes eight newcomers for the 2017 season.

Included for the first time at senior level are Na Piarsaigh’s Peter Casey, Kilmallock duo Robbie Hanley and Robbie Egan, Seamus Flanagan from Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Monaleen’s Lorcan Lyons and Andrew La Touche-Cosgrave, Kyle Hayes from Kildimo-Pallaskenry and Tournafulla’s Stephen Cahill.

The omission of the experienced Paudie O’Brien is the biggest talking point. The experienced James Ryan is taking time away to consider his future while Kevin Downes also misses out due to injury.

Murroe-Boher corner forward Seanie Tobin returns to the panel after opting out last season while Colin Ryan of Pallasgreen and Bruff’s Sean Finn come back into the fold after injury.

Limerick manager John Kiely took on the senior job having spent two years as U-21 manager. In 2015, his side won the All Ireland title with a 16-point win over Wexford.

The Galbally clubman was named as TJ Ryan’s successor in September. His backroom staff is made up of selectors Brian Geary and Jimmy Quilty, coach Paul Kinnerk and strength and conditioning coach Joe O’Connor.

The Limerick panel in full is as follows: Declan Hannon (Adare), John Fitzgibbon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Paul Browne (Bruff), Sean Finn (Bruff), Richie English (Doon), Pat Ryan (Doon), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Nickie Quaid (Effin), Seamus Flanagan (Feoghanagh/Castlemahon), David McCarthy (Glenroe), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock), Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Robbie Egan (Kilmallock), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher), Seanie Tobin (Murroe/Boher), Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell), Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Gearóid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s), Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla).

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by