Late Williams strike maintains Limerick FC’s unbeaten league run

Limerick FC maintained their unbeaten record in the SSE Airtricity League First Division with a 1-1 draw against Shelbourne in Dublin on Friday night.

The recently crowned champions were not at their best, but Martin Russell’s side managed to salvage a late equaliser, despite a poor performance from the Super Blues.

Robbie Williams rescued a point for the visitors with a superb volley eight minutes from time at Tolka Park.

It was worry for Martin Russell’s side even before they kicked a ball, when their joint top goalscorer John O’ Flynn was ruled out through an injury that he sustained in the warm up.

Shelbourne started the better of the two sides, coming close through Adam Evans after nine minutes. Evans pounced on a loose ball in midfield before running through the Limerick defence, only to be denied by Limerick’s Freddy Hall.

Shelbourne took a well deserved lead in the 23rd minute after a poor mistake from Limerick’s Paudie O’ Connor.  Under pressure from Shelbourne’s James English, O’ Connor lost possession and it was Adam Evans who capitalised to neatly finish past Hall.

Five minutes later, the home side came close to doubling their lead with a near perfect free kick from Dylan Kavanagh. Limerick’s crossbar was rattled as Kavanagh nearly struck home from 25 yards.

Limerick upped the tempo in the second half, but it wasn’t until the 82nd minute that they finally managed to break down a resilient and determined Shelbourne side.

Robbie Williams was the man who made the headlines, when he smashed home a right footed volley with eight minutes remaining. Shelbourne failed to clear a Limerick corner only for the ball to fall to Williams who secured a point for Martin Russell’s side.

Limerick now look to continue their impressive unbeaten league record this season when they travel to Cobh next weekend. With only four games remaining, Russell will surely be confident of achieving a record breaking unbeaten season.

Limerick: Freddy Hall, Paul O’ Conor, Paudie O’ Connor, Robbie Williams, Sean Russell, Shane Tracy, Shane Duggan, Garbhan Coughlan (Ross Mann 46), Aaron Greene, Lee J. Lynch, Chris Mullhall.

Shelbourne: Jack Brady, Lorcan Shannon, Jack Tuite, Aidan Collins (Conor Keeley 87), Reece McEnteer, Daire Doyle, Gavin Boyle, Carl Walshe, Dylan Kavanagh, Adam Evans, James English.

Referee: Simon Rodgers

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by