Limerick Dominate 2023 Hurling All-Star Nominations

Three Limerick hurlers have been nominated for the 2023 PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year award.

Patrickswell duo Aaron Gillane and Diarmuid Byrnes as well as Kildimo-Pallaskenry’s Kyle Hayes are the players nominated for the coveted award.

If either Gillane or Byrnes wins it, it will be the fourth time in six years that the main individual hurling award will be heading to Patrickswell.

If the 2022 Hurler of the Year Byrnes wins it, he will become the first player to achieve the two in a row since the award began in 1995, stat from David Byrne.

John Kiely’s history makers also make up 14 of the 45 All Star Hurling nominees for this year after winning their fourth Liam McCarthy Cup in a row last July.

The three Hurler of the Year nominees are joined by another Patrickswell representative in Cian Lynch, Na Piarsaigh trio Mike Casey, Will O’Donoghue and Peter Casey, Ahane brothers Dan and Tom Morrissey, Effin’s Nickie Quaid, South Liberties’ Barry Nash, Darragh O’Donovan from Doon, Seamus Flanagan of Feoghanagh/Castlemahon and Dromin/Athlacca’s David Reidy.

Current UL student Mark Rodgers of Clare has been nominated for the Young Hurler of the Year award along with his county teammate Adam Hogan and Cork defender Ciaran Joyce.

PwC GAA/GPA Hurling All-Star Nominations 2023: 

Goalkeepers: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny); Nickie Quaid (Limerick); Eibhear Quilligan (Clare).

Defenders: Barry Nash, Mike Casey, Dan Morrissey, Kyle Hayes, Diarmaid Byrnes (All Limerick); Mikey Butler, Huw Lawlor, Paddy Deegan, David Blanchfield (All Kilkenny); John Conlon, Adam Hogan, Diarmuid Ryan, David McInerney (All Clare); Ciarán Joyce, Damien Cahalane (Both Cork); Jack Grealish, Daithí Burke (Both Galway); Ronan Maher (Tipperary).

Midfielders: Darragh O’Donovan, Will O’Donoghue (Both Limerick); Noel McGrath (Tipperary); Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork); David Fitzgerald (Clare); Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny).

Forwards: Cian Lynch, Peter Casey, Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, David Reidy (All Limerick); Cathal Mannion, Conor Whelan, Brian Concannon, Evan Niland (All Galway); Tony Kelly, Shane O’Donnell, Mark Rodgers (All Clare); TJ Reid, Eoin Cody (Both Kilkenny); Jake Morris (Tipperary); Dónal Burke (Dublin); Patrick Horgan (Cork).

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees

Kyle Hayes, Aaron Gillane, Diarmaid Byrnes (All Limerick).

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Nominees

Adam Hogan, Mark Rodgers (Both Clare); Ciaran Joyce (Cork).

See more information on the nominations – here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top

Powered by