Limerick dominate shortlist for 2017 U-21 hurling team of the year

Limerick GAA on Twitter
Limerick GAA on Twitter

Limerick GAA on Twitter

Champions Limerick dominate a shortlist of 45 players that are to be chosen for the 2017 U-21 Team of the Year.

The man who led the Treaty County to glory, Tom Morrissey, and centre-half forward Barry Murphy are the only two starters from the All-Ireland triumph over Kilkenny to not make the cut.

Limerick is well-represented countywide with Doon’s Eoghan McDermott in the running for the goalkeeper berth while Na Piarsaigh trio Ronan Lynch (who made last year’s team of the year), Thomas Grimes and Peter Casey are also among the nominees.

South Liberties dynamo Barry Nash is on the shortlist at left corner forward while Colin Ryan and Kilmallock’s Robbie Hanley will jostle for a place in midfield. Ryan is one of two Pallasgreen representatives, full-back Darragh Fanning being the other. Hanley is joined by his club teammate Dan Joy on the shortlist.

Patrickswell will be represented by Aaron Gillane, who notched seven points on All-Ireland final day. 2015 Team of the Year half-forward Cian Lynch made the list too, while Sean Finn is Bruff’s sole representative.

Pallaskenry centre back Kyle Hayes completes the list of 13 Limerick representatives with the finalised team set to be announced on Monday, October 2.

Additionally, Limerick dominate the Player of the Year nominees, with Hayes, Gillane, Casey and Finn joining Kilkenny’s Conor Delaney

The judging panel is comprised of Ger Cunningham, TG4’s Micheál O Domhnaill, Galway star Joe Canning and Waterford legend Ken McGrath.

Goalkeepers: Eoghan Mc Namara (Limerick/Doon), Sean Maher (Westmeath)

Right Corner Back: Sean Finn (Limerick/Bruff), Sean O’Donoghue (Cork), Declan Cronin (Galway)

Full Back: Daragh Fanning (Limerick/Pallasgreen), Conor Delaney (Kilkenny), Conor Prunty (Waterford)

Left Corner Back: Dan Joy (Limerick/Kilmallock), Sean Loftus (Galway), Darragh Lyons (Waterford)

Right Half Back: Ronan Lynch (Limerick/Na Piarsaigh), Darren Browne (Cork), Jack Grealish (Galway)

Centre Back: Kyle Hayes (Limerick/Pallaskenry/Kidimo),Conor Gleeson (Waterford), Ciaran Steele (Derry)

Left Half Back: Thomas Grimes (Limerick/Na Piarsaigh), Jason Cleere (Kilkenny), Mark Coleman (Cork)

Midfield: Colin Ryan (Limerick/Pallasgreen), Robbie Hanley (Limerick/Kilmallock), Ger Browne (Tipperary), Luke Scanlon (Kilkenny), Dan Nevin (Galway), Colm Roche (Waterford)

Right Half Foward: Aaron Gillane (Limerick/Patrickswell), Brian Concannon (Galway), Rory O’Connor (Wexford)

Centre Forward: Declan Dalton (Cork), Killian Doyle (Westmeath), John Donnelly (Kilkenny)

Left Half Forward: Cian Lynch (Limerick/Patrickswell), Ritchie Leahy (Kilkenny), Niall Mitchell (Westmeath)

Right Corner Forward: Billy Ryan (Kilkenny), Patrick Curran (Waterford), Conor Whelan (Galway)

 Full Forward: Peter Casey (Limerick/Na Piarsaigh), Shane Bennett (Waterford), Cormac O’Doherty (Derry)

Left Corner Forward: Barry Nash (Limerick/South Liberties), Thomas Monaghan (Galway), Cathal Dunbar (Wexford)

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by