Limerick FC duo called up to Republic of Ireland Under-15 squad

Two of Limerick FC’s hottest underage prospects have received a call-up to the 18-man Republic of Ireland squad for a training camp on the October Bank Holiday weekend.

Both Joey Rushe and Jake Prendergast, who are currently starring for Limerick FC in the SSE Airtricity Under-15 National League, have been named in Jason Donohue’s side for the three-day training camp.

The camp will be preparing for November’s double-header with Poland, due to take place in Longford.

Prendergast previously played an important role in Limerick FC’s LDSL Under-15 Premier Division winning side and also represented Limerick District Schoolboy League in the Kennedy Cup last summer.

Rushe famously captained the Limerick Desmond Schoolboy League to victory in that same Kennedy Cup back in June, where they pulled off a dramatic penalty-shootout win in the Plate Final. He previously played for Kilcornan FC and AK United before Limerick FC.

With only one league game left in the SSE Airtricity Under-15 National League, Limerick are currently one point behind leaders, and their final opponents, Waterford in Group 3.

Speaking to, James Donohue revealed to being eager to get the season underway, and says the door is still open for new players to be called in.

“This is the start of our season and the whole coaching team are really looking forward to it,” he said. “The standard of football we’ve seen on show in the SSE Airtricity Under-15 National League in particular has been very encouraging and we are looking forward to getting the squad in.

“It is still very early in the season. In selecting the squad, the coaching staff and our scouting network have been to over 60 games across the country. The door has not been shut on anyone and there will be plenty of chances for players to impress.”

The camp will begin officially when the squad take on Manchester City Under-15s on October 30 in the FAI National Training Centre, Abbotstown.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND U-15 Squad; Patrick McGarvey (Finn Harps); Darragh Burke (Cork City); Fionnan Coyle (Finn Harps); Gavin O’Brien (St Kevin’s Boys); Joseph Rushe (Limerick FC); Ronan Kilkenny (St Kevin’s Boys); Jake Prendergast (Limerick FC); Jamie Doyle (St Patrick’s Athletic); Bosun Lawal (St Kevin’s Boys); Kyle Conway (St Patrick’s Athletic); Kailin Barlow (Sligo Rovers); Colin Conroy (St Kevin’s Boys); Sami Clarke (Shamrock Rovers); Val Adekoun (Dundalk); Oran Crow (Cork City); Kenneth Lee (St Patrick’s Athletic); Dylan Gavin (Athlone Town FC); Cian Kavanagh (St Patrick’s Athletic).


Most Popular

To Top

Powered by