Limerick FC skipper Duggan wins First Division Player of the Year

Shane Duggan with the PFAI First Division Player of the Year Award that he received on Saturday. Photo: Limerick FC Twitter

Limerick FC captain Shane Duggan has been rewarded for a fine season by being named the Professional Footballers Association of Ireland (PFAI) First Division Player of the Year.

Duggan, from Norwood Park in Limerick city, received the award in Dublin at the weekend. He beat off competition from teammate Chris Mulhall and UCD’s Gary O’Neill who were also nominated for the award.

The midfielder was one of Limerick’s star performers as they won the SSE Airtricity League First Division title by 23 points over Drogheda United in second place.

Duggan began his career with local junior side Fairview Rangers before he moved to England and played with Plymouth Argyle.

His time in England was not a happy one and after a brief spell at UCD, Duggan moved to Cork City where he stayed for five seasons.

Duggan moved back to his hometown club in 2013 and was linked with several clubs at the top of the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division when Limerick were relegated last season.

Despite the allure of staying in the top flight, the 27-year-old decided to stay with Limerick and that decision was justified as his side romped to the SSE Airtricity League First Division title.

Duggan is from a well-known Limerick footballing family. His father Ger was a member of the Limerick side that won the league and FAI Cup in the early 1980’s.

Upon winning the award, Duggan has become the first Limerick FC to be named Player of the Year since striker Rory Gaffney four years ago. Gaffney now plys his trade with Bristol Rovers in England’s EFL League One.

The Super Blues captain was also named on the PFAI First Division Team of the Season along with Mulhall, Freddy Hall, Robbie Williams, Shane Tracy, Paudie O’Connor, Lee J Lynch and Aaron Greene.

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by