Mary I fall to defeat in opening round of Fitzgibbon Cup

UCC 1-21 Mary I 0-19

Mary Immaculate (Mary I) college hurling team opened up their Fitzgibbon Cup campaign with a loss to the reigning champions UCC in a thoroughly entertaining game in the Sportsground of the Limerick College.

The game swung back and forth with some great scores from both sides, with an early second half goal from Shane Barrett proving crucial to guide the Cork side to victory.

Limerick man William Henn was deadly on place balls for the Cork side ending up with eight points with six of those from a free and one from a 65.

The first half was full excitement with both teams playing an entertaining brand of hurling with both teams going into the break 10 points apiece.

It was the champions who got off to the fast start hitting the first three points with Henn and Mark Kehoe putting the Cork side into an early three-point lead.

The Limerick side didn’t panic and hit the next four scores from Devon Ryan giving them the lead by a point going into the first water break.

The next quarter was tit for tat as both teams traded scores with Henn hitting further points before Philip Wall and Devon Ryan hit back leaving it level at the break after an exciting first half.

Straight after the restart, the moment of the game came as Shane Barrett hit the back of the net for UCC giving them a three-point cushion which proved pivotal.

Another Henn free added to their advantage but to Mary I’s credit they battled away and with further scores including a Jason Gilane point leaving the gap to one at the water break.

Then UCC sprung Padraig Power off the bench – who scored four points in the last quarter to guide the Cork side to victory.

Next up for Mary I is a trip to Galway next week to face NUIG

SCORERS: UCC: William Henn 0-8 (6frees, 1 ’65), Mark Kehoe and Padraig Power 0-4 each, Shane Barrett 1-3, C Cahalane 0-1 and Ronan Connolly 0-1 each. Mary Immaculate College: Devon Ryan 0-11 (8frees, 3 ’65), Jas Gillane (1 line), Philip Wall and Diarmuid Ryan 0-2 each, Colin O’Brien and Andrew Ormond 0-1 each.

MARY IMMACULATE: Eamon Foudy (Inagh-Kilnamona, Clare); Johnny Ryan, Keith Ryan (Upperchurch Drombane, Tipperary), PJ Fanning (Mount Sion, Waterford); Shane Ryan (Clarinbridge, Galway), Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe, Clare), Darragh Lohan (Wolfe Tones, Clare); Aaron Ryan (Upperchurch Drombane, Tipperary), Mark Stokes (Kilsheelan Kilcash, Tipperary); Jason Gillane (Patrickswell, Limerick), Devon Ryan (Cashel King Cormacs, Tipperary), Eanna MacBride (JK Brackens, Tipperary); Philip Wall (Kilbrittan, Cork), Andrew Ormond (JK Brackans, Tipperary), Colin O’Brien (Liscarroll Churchtown Gaels, Cork). Subs: Shane Punch (Ruan, Cork) for Aaron Ryan (h-t), James Devaney (Borris Ileigh, Tipperary) for Eanna MacBride (50mins).

UCC: Ian Butler (Kildorrery, Cork); Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick), Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills, Cork), Killian O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary); Ciaran Barry (Ahane, Limerick), Iarlaith Daly (Lismore, Waterford), Robert Downey (Glen Rovers, Cork); Ronan Connolly (Adare, Limerick), Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh, Cork); Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick), William Henn (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick), Conor Cahalane (St Finbarrs, Cork); Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash, Tipperary), Shane Barrett (Blarney, Cork), Simon Kennefick (Glen Rovers, Cork). Subs: Padraig Power (Blarney, Cork) for Simon Kennefick (48mins), Cormac O’Brien (Newtownshandrum, Cork) for Daire Connery (48mins), Daire O’Leary (Watergrasshill, Cork) for William Henn (52mins), Simon Condon (Harbour Rovers, Cork) for Mark Kehoe (60mins).

The Latest

To Top

Powered by