Munster lose their unbeaten start after losing out to Ospreys

Ospreys 18-10 Munster

Munster’s unbeaten start came to an end tonight after they came unstuck against an impressive Ospreys side.

Munster’s penalty count proved costly as the deadly fly half Stephen Myler was in a ruthless mood kicking all six penalties.

The mistakes and turnovers cost the away side dearly with the Ospreys full value for their win.

In a bright start to the game both sides swapped penalties early on with Stephen Myler coverting for the home side, with Jack Crowley levelling up the game after five minutes on the clock.

That is as good as it got for the Irish side as they struggled to get going, the game lacked continuity in the scrappy first half which was very stop start for the majority of the half.

Munster had a rare attack in the 15th minute, and they thought they had the first try of the night but the TMO denied Niall Scannell’s try after obstruction in the buildup.

Ospreys dominated for the rest of the half but luckily for Munster they only went in at the break losing 9-3 after Myler converted two more penalties for the home side.

Munster needed a fast start to the second half but it never materialized as Myler converted another penalty to make it 12-3.

The penalty seemed to bring Munster to life and after a line out the ball went to the maul Craig Casey went over to bring Munster back in the game with Crowley nailing the conversion to leave two between the sides.

But Munster didn’t use their momentum after the try with the home side responding from yet another penalty from Myler bringing it to a five-point game with 15 minutes to go.

Once more Munster were guilty of giving another kickable penalty away with Myler nailing the kick to put daylight between the teams.

Ospreys held out in the final few minutes for a deserved win finishing Munster’s winning start to the tournament

Munster Team: Matt Gallagher; Andrew Conway, Liam Coombes, Dan Goggin, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jack O’Donoghue, Peter O’Mahoney, Tadhg Berine, Fineen Wycherley; Jean Kleyn, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, Jeremy Loughman.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Josh Wycherley, Keynan Knox, Gavin Coombes, John Hodnett, Conor Murray, Ben Healy, Damian De Allende.

Ospreys Team: Max Nagy; Alex Cuthbert, Owen Watkins, Kieran Williams, Matt Protheroe; Stephen Myler, Rhys Webb; Ethan Roots, Jac Morgan, Sam Cross, Rhys Davies; Bradley Davies, TomBotha, Elvis Taione, Nicky Smith

Replacements: Ifan Phillips, Gareth Thomas, Rhys Henry, Jack Regan, Morgan Morris, Rebuen  Morgan-Williams, Joe Hawkins, Dan Evans

The Latest

To Top

Powered by