Munster name team ahead of Glasgow clash

Diarmuid Barron Munster Rugby
Photo by Munster Rugby/@Munsterrugby on Twitter.

There are three changes to the starting XV that beat Scarlets at the start of the month.

By Jodie McCormack

Munster Rugby have announced their team ahead of their weekend clash with Glasgow Warriors in the United Rugby Championship.

The last time Munster hosted Glasgow

The match is set to take place in Thomond Park kicking off at 5:15pm on Saturday as the two teams battle it out for a place in the play-offs.

The home side are defending a winning streak, having won their last 5 games but the visitors also enter the game in good form, having lost only once in all competitions since November.

The Stags were headed into the game without Grand Slam winners Peter O’Mahony and Conor Murray and have since lost centre Antoine Frisch to a leg injury.

Mike Haley returns from injury for the game starting at full-back for the first time since January, while Jack Crowley also re-joins the Munster side pairing up with Malakai Fekitoa in midfield in a new centre pairing.

Dave Kilcoyne returns to the fold to join Diarmuid Barron and Roman Salanoa in the front row.

Jean Kleyn and Fineen Whycherley remain in the second row while the back row of Jack O’ Donoghue, John Hodnett and Gavin Coombes is unchanged.

Paddy Patterson and Joey Carbery remain at nine and ten respectively, while Calvin Nash and Shane Daly start on either flank.

Scott Buckley, Stephen Archer, Craig Casey, Rory Scannell and Simon Zebo join the squad in the replacements.


Munster Rugby : Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Malakai Fekitoa, Jack Crowley, Shane Daly; Joey Carbery, Paddy Patterson; Dave Kilcoyne, Diarmuid Barron, Roman Salanoa; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Josh Wycherley, Stephen Archer, RG Snyman, Alex Kendellen, Craig Casey, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo.

Glasgow Warriors: Ollie Smith; Cole Forbes, Stafford McDowall (C), Sam Johnson, Jamie Dobie; Domingo Miotti, Ali Price; Nathan McBeth, Fraser Brown, Zander Fagerson; JP du Preez, Scott Cummings; Matt Fagerson, Rory Darge, Sione Vailanu.

Replacements: Johnny Matthews, Allan Dell, Lucio Sordoni, Lewis Bean, Alex Samuel, Thomas Gordon, George Horne, Tom Jordan.

To see what Munster Elite Player Development Officer Tommy O’ Donnell said ahead of the game, click here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top

Powered by