O’Mahony misses out as Stander captains Munster for Toulouse clash

The Munster team has been named for Saturday’s Heineken Champions Cup Round of 16 game against Toulouse at Thomond Park (3pm).

Peter O’Mahony misses out due to a thigh laceration suffered in last weekend’s Pro14 final with Jack O’Donoghue starting in place of O’Mahony.

Gavin Coombes and Stander, who captains the side on his 50th appearance for the province, complete the back row.

Overall there are three changes to the side that started the Guinness PRO14 final in Dublin and they are all in the pack.

Dave Kilcoyne and Stephen Archer replace James Cronin and John Ryan in the front row. Niall Scannell retains his place at hooker.

Jean Kleyn and Tadhg Beirne continue in the engine room.

Damian de Allende and Chris Farrell form the centre partnership as Conor Murray and Joey Carbery start in the half-backs.

An unchanged backline sees Mike Haley start at full-back with Andrew Conway and Keith Earls completing the back three.

Fineen Wycherley has rehabbed the neck injury he sustained against Scarlets to be included in the match-day squad.

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Keith Earls; Joey Carbery, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Gavin Coombes, Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander (c).

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, James Cronin, John Ryan, Billy Holland, Fineen Wycherley, Craig Casey, JJ Hanrahan, Chris Cloete.

The Latest

To Top

Powered by