Record Sigerson win sets up Letterkenny clash

UL 4-15 Sligo IT 0-7

UL recorded their biggest Sigerson cup win to date, with a twenty point victory over Sligo IT under lights in UL last night.

Goals from Eoghan McLaughlin and David Clifford, as well as a brace from half time substitute Paul Walsh, helped Declan Brouder’s side to a comfortable victory.

Sligo only managed two points in the first half, and were 0-8 to 0-1 behind when McLaughlin tore through the opposition defence, rifling a left footed shot past fellow Mayo man Luke Jennings to put double figures between the sides.

Emmett McMahon, a point scorer for Clare against Cork in the McGrath cup at the weekend, kicked two huge first half points, with monstrous kicks also from Clifford, Donal O’Sullivan and Sligo’s Barry Cafferky.

Paul Walsh was introduced at half time for UL, and seven minutes into his arrival had a shot which snuck under the crossbar to extend the lead.

Connell Dempsey burst through the heart of the Sligo defence minutes later, rattling the crossbar before Walsh picked up the pieces and doubled his tally with a low shot to the net.

Despite some late scoring from Sligo’s Oisin McLaughlin and Matthew McGahern, it was Clifford who had the final say.

A high ball into the full forward line landed on the Kerry man’s lap, who coolly dispatched his shot to the bottom left corner with his left boot.

The draw for the Sigerson cup sees UL play Letterkenny IT next Tuesday in Round 2A, who had a late surge in beating Carlow IT 1-13 to 1-11.

UL scorers:

D Clifford (1-5, 3f), P Walsh (2-0), E McMahon (0-4), E McLaughlin (1-0), D O’Sullivan (0-3, 2f), C Dempsey, D Walsh, D Gray (0-1 each)

UL team:

C Flaherty (Claregalway); J Glynn (Claregalway), C Donnelly (Bracknagh), P Maher (Adare); G O’Donovan (Newcestown), S Powter (Douglas), E McLaughlin (Westport); C Dempsey (Knockmore), D Walsh (Kilmurry-Ibrickane); C Downes (Kilmhil), E McMahon (Kildysart), O Looney (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay); D Clifford (Fossa), D Gray (Castledermot), D O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan).

Subs used:

P Walsh (Brosna), J McCarthy (Kenmare), C Og Jones (Iveleary), E Connolly (O’Donovan Rossa), J O’Brien (Durrow).

Sligo IT scorers:

M McGahern, O McLaughlin (0-2 (2f) each); B Cafferkey, P O’Driscoll, K Cawley (0-1 each).

Sligo IT team:

L Jennings (Ballinrobe); T McSkean (Ballybay), S Doak (St Michael’s), S Murphy (Coolera-Strandhill); C McKeon (St Michaels), C Joyce (Namh Eanna), A O’Brien (Mitchelstown); L Molloy (Cavan Gaels), M Barrett (Naomh Anna – Leiter Mor); C Murray (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay), M McGahern (Mullahoran), J Keaney (Naomh Molaise); B Cafferkey (Bunninadden), F Ayorinde (St Lomans), P O’Hehir (Naomh Columba).

Subs used:

D Fitzgerald (Avondale), O McLaughlin , K Cawley (St Mary’s), A Keeleghan (Rhode), P O’Driscoll (Glen Rovers).


James Molloy (Galway).

The Latest

To Top

Powered by