Scannell provides welcome boost for top of table clash

Munster Rugby

Munster Rugby

Irish international, Rory Scannell is the named as the only change to Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus’s starting 15 ahead of tonight’s away clash against Glasgow Warriors.

Scannell comes in at inside centre in place of Jaco Taute after coming on as his second half replacement in Munster’s victory over Ospreys last weekend.

Chris Farrell will partner Scannell in the centre, while Dave Kilcoyne who has recently returned from a knee injury is named among the replacements.

Thus far, Munster have an impressive record in the Guinness Pr0 14, with victories over the aforementioned Ospreys as well as seeing off the challenges of Benetton Rugby and the Cheetahs, which sees them currently sit on top of the table.

It’s been an emotional week for Munster Rugby who are still in mourning following the passing of the club’s ex-media manager, Pat Geraghty, who died during the week after battling with a prolonged illness.

Geraghty spent over twelve years working for Munster and is fondly remembered for the great work he did with the club during that time.

Captain Ryan Wilson returns to the Glasgow Warriors side for the clash at a sold-out Scotstoun Stadium. While, Ali Price, Rory Hughes and Peter Horne also return to Scottish side’s starting line-up.

Kick off is 7.35pm and will be shown on TG4.

Munster: A. Conway, D. Sweetnam, C. Farrell, R. Scannell, A. Wootton; T. Bleyendaal, D. Williams; L. O’Connor, R. Marshall, S. Archer; J. Kleyn, B. Holland; S. O’Connor, T. O’Donnell, J. O’Donoghue.

Replacements: N. Scannell, D. Kilcoyne, J. Ryan, F. Wycherley, R. Copeland, J. Hart, J. Taute, S. Zebo.

Glasgow Warriors: R. Jackson, L. Jones, N. Grigg, P. Horne, R. Hughes;  F. Russell, A. Price; J. Bhatti, G. Turner, Z. Fagerson; T. Swinson, S. Cummings; R. Wilson, Callum Gibbins, Adam Ashe.

Replacements: P. MacArthur, A. Allan, D. Rae, B. Alainu’uese, R. Harley, H. Pyrgos, S Johnson, L. Sarto.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by