Three Limerick natives make the Ireland Women’s Sevens squad

Three Limerick players have made the the Ireland Women’s Sevens squad to compete in the opening leg of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series in Dubai next week.

Aoife Doyle of Shannon returns to the side after a prolonged injury spell while UL Bohemians and Munster player Louise Galvin comes back into the team after representing Ireland at the Women’s Rugby World Cup earlier this year.

Fellow UL Bohemians player Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird will make her debut for Ireland as she begins her venture into sevens rugby.

The teenager represented Munster earlier this month when they triumphed over the Barbarians.

Leinster’s Eve Higgins will also make her debut for the sevens side that will be captained by Lucy Malhall of Rathdrum.

Ashleigh Baxter, Katie Fitzhenry and Hannah Tyrrell who also represented Ireland at the Women’s World Cup which was held in the Emerald Isle make their way into the squad for the Dubai World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

Claire Boles, Stacey Flood, Audrey O’Flynn and Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe, Ireland’s top try scorer in the World Series last season with 21 tries, complete the 12-woman squad.

“I think the squad are really excited about the World Series this year and having shown some good improvement the last couple of seasons, we will be looking to build on that throughout the series,” said IRFU Director of Women’s and Sevens Rugby, Anthony Eddy.

The tournament begins on November 30, as Ireland face off against Fiji, Canada and Spain.

Ireland women’s sevens squad

Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster)

Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)

Aoife Doyle (Shannon/Railway Union/Munster)

Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)

Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)

Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster) *

Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum) (capt)

Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)

Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemians/Munster) *

Audrey O’Flynn (Ireland Sevens)

Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by