Treaty United receive place in Airtricity League First Division

Limerick will be represented in the SSE Airtricity League as Treaty United have received approval to compete in this season’s campaign.

With no Limerick club competing in either the Premier Division or First Division last season, this announcement is a boost for Limerick soccer.

Treaty United will now take up the 10th and final place in this season’s First Division.

Last year there was no Limerick side competing in the league for the first time since 1937.        

Treaty United, who will be managed by Tommy Barrett, will begin their First Division campaign on March 26.

Licences for the 2021 season were awarded by the Independent Licensing Committee on Friday. On receipt earlier today of the NLEC recommendation that the First Division comprise of 10 teams, the FAI Board then took its decision this afternoon.

The SSE Airtricity Premier Division season will kick-off on March 19.


Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Cork City, Galway United, Shelbourne, Treaty United, UCD AFC, Wexford FC.

Bohemian FC, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, St Patrick’s Athletic, Waterford FC.

The Latest

To Top

Powered by