Patrickswell earn 19th County title with easy win over Ballybrown

Patrickswell coach Declan Fitzgerald and manager Gary Kirby with the Daly Cup after their 19-point win over Ballybrown. Photo: Declan Fitzgerald Twitter

Patrickswell claimed their first County Senior Hurling title since 2003 by overcoming underdogs Ballybrown in convincing fashion at the Gaelic Grounds.

Gary Kirby’s side undoubtedly took a lot of confidence from being involved in last years final and look assured throughout.

Ballybrown have been this years surprise package and impressed in their last outing by defeating a much fancied Adare side. Unfortunately this was not the same Ballybrown side that showed up for the final.

Patrickswell opened the scoring in the opening minute through Cian Lynch and that was followed up by an Aaron Gillane free.

Ballybrown levelled the scores with well taken points from Alan O’Conner and Stephen Foster but sadly that was closest they came.

Patrickswell continued to tack on scores and in the 14th minute they struck a sucker punch with a very well taken Kevin O’Brien goal.

It was a great flowing move which involved all of the full forward line. Patrickswell continued to be accurate in their shooting and led 1-10 to 0-5 at the break.

Any thoughts of a Ballybrown come back in the second half were quickly dispelled as continued where they had left off in the first half, this time with the breeze at their backs.

Cian Lynch gave a stellar performance from centre field and was key to Patrickswell’s efficient performance. Lynch was imperative to everything good that Patrickswell did and Ballybrown failed to deal with his threat.

His midfield partner, Barry Foley, is a man who is no stranger to these occasions and the 39-year-old gave a stellar performance.

Foley showed his experience on a number of occasions and registered what was perhaps score of the game with a fantastic long range strike midway through the second half.

A telling sign of the Patrickswell performance was that, bar the full back line, everyone registered a score from play in what was a real team performance.

When Ballybrown look back on this game after the dust has settled they will no doubt pinpoint their wasteful shooting and aimless striking as where they went wrong, particularly in the first half where they struck 12 wides.

Realistically the game looked finished by half time and Patrickswell pushed on to put the tie beyond any doubt in the second half.

They looked confident throughout the half with some well taken scores, in particular from Barry Foley and Jack Kelleher.

Ballybrown did manage to rattle the net in the second half after a Shane Kenny long ball in but in reality it was no more than a consolation.

In the end Patrickswell ran out deserved 1-26 to 1-07 winners in what was unfortunately quite a poor county final for the neutrals.

Ballybrown will take this final as a learning experience and will no doubt hope to be in the shake up come 2017. For Patrickswell, they look forward to advancing to the Munster Championship where they will face Glen Rovers of Cork on November 6.

They will hope to emulate Monaleen’s success after they overcame Doora-Barefield on Saturday in the Intermediate competition.

SCORERS: Patrickswell: Aaron Gillane 0-7 (five frees), Diarmaid Byrnes 0-6 (four frees), Cian Lynch 0-3, Kevin O’Brien 1-0, Lar Considine, Barry Foley and Seanie O’Brien 0-2 each, Mark Carmody, Nigel Foley, Thomas O’Brien, Lar Considine 0-1 each. Ballybrown: Alan O’Connor 0-4 (three frees), Shane Kenny 1-0, Stephen Foster, Kyle Loftus and Lee Doolan 0-1 each.

Patrickswell: Brian Murray; Thomas Nolan, James Mann, Niall Carmody; Mark Carmody, Diarmuid Byrnes, Nigel Foley; Cian Lynch, Barry Foley; Aaron Gillane, Sean O’Brien, Jack Kelleher; Lar Considine, Kevin O’Brien, Thomas O’Brien; Subs: John Flynn for Nolan (55 mins), Andrew Carroll for S O’Brien (55 mins) Peter Harty for Considine (55 mins), K Dundon for N Carmody (57 mins) David Woulfe for K O’Brien (57 mins).

Ballybrown: Cian Hedderman; Stevie O’Reilly, Des Kenny, Mikey Kiely; Josh Adams, Richie Kenny, Luke Doran; Shane Kenny, Stephen Foste; Ross Griffin, Kyle Loftus, Lee Doolan; David Hall, Bryan Griffin, Alan O’Connor; Subs: Mark Sheehan for D Hall (40 mins), Andrew Cliffe for Doolan (40 mins), James Hall for R Griffin (48 mins), David Hartnett for Adams (58 mins).

Man of the Match: Cian Lynch

Referee: Jason Mullins (St Kieran’s)

Most Popular

To Top

Powered by